In the Beginning…

…God created the Heavens and the Earth. And a bunch of years later, here I am writing a blog about my life.

One purpose of this blog, at least for the next 11 months, is to give those reading some insight into what’s going on in my life. Over the next 11 months I will be completing my dietetic internship by distance in Jackson, Mississippi at The University of Southern Mississippi with an ending goal of becoming a registered dietitian. For those of you who have completed a dietetic internship, you understand the struggles and triumphs that this next year will bring. To those who are planning on applying to an internship…God bless you. And to those of you who have no idea what a dietetic internship is, stay tuned because I’m going to do my best to give you a picture of what exactly I’ll be doing.

To make it simple, in order for a registered dietitian to become more than just someone who is obsessed with nutrition they must:

  1. Complete an undergraduate degree in food and nutrition from an accredited university.
  2. Complete a certain number of hours of supervised practice in a clinical, foodservice, and community setting.
  3. Pass an insanely hard exam

I’m currently completing part two. This next year, I will be working at multiple hospitals and facilities trying to learn everything there is for a registered dietitian to do. And by the end of these 11 months, I’ll hopefully be smart enough to pass that exam, get a job, and officially be Marie Hughey Registered Dietitian Nutritionist (RDN for short). That is the main short-term goal for now…other than trying not to have a mental break down every other hour due to the insane amount of grad school work that I need to be doing instead of writing this post.

May has already proven to be a month of huge changes. I graduated college, my sister got her masters in nutrition (she’s already a dietitian and yes, I am super pumped about being sister dietitians one day), my best friend got married, I started grad school classes, and I began looking for an apartment in Jackson Mississippi. To be honest, I’m exhausted and I’ve barely begun, but I know that if I’ve made it this far, then I can make it through this next year.

IMG_5984

A second purpose for this blog is to share some about God and how his promises will get me through this next year. The 2 grueling months that I waited to hear about internship decisions were probably the most I had ever relied on God. I prayed so many things but my main prayer was that in all things, whatever happens, “May your will be done.” Throughout my undergrad, I’ve learned that this is the simplest yet most rewarding prayer you can pray, “Not my will but yours be done.” There’s something freeing about completely surrendering your will to God. In all things I strive to glorify God, and while sometimes I think my way is better or God’s way is too hard, I always end up begging for what God wants in my life, because so far it’s worked out pretty well.

So for now, I’m just ready to get moving on what’s sure to be the best year of my life!

“However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.”

Acts 20:24

Leave a Reply

